Elmwood’s Kristen Curtis named top NBC girls player

Kristen Curtis, a key cog in an Elmwood team that won its second consecutive Northern Buckeye Conference championship this season, has been selected the league’s player of the year.
Curtis, a senior wing, averaged 16 points and 6.6 rebounds per game for the Royals.
Junior teammate Sam Ervin (11.5 points, 6.7 rebounds) was a second-team All-NBC selection, while senior wing Tiffany Hillard and senior guard Marissa Swavel gained honorable mention.
Fostoria High School junior guards Jada Hampton and Erica Moore received honorable mention as well.
In boys All-NBC balloting, Elmwood’s Aaron Arnold was a second-team selection.
Arnold, a 6-foot-5 forward, averaged 12.2 points, 6.3 rebounds and 3.9 assists per game.
Lake junior guard Connor Bowen was named the NBC player of the year. First-team picks also include Rossford’s Derek Mack; Eastwood’s Jack Schmeltz; Genoa’s Luke Rightnowar; Otsego’s Jalen Myers; and Lake’s Jared Rettig.
Elmwood’s Trevor Solether and Fostoria’s Kaleb Bemis were honorable mention picks.

All-NBC Boys Basketball
First team
Connor Bowen, jr., Lake; Derek Mack, sr., Rossford; Jake Schmeltz, sr., Eastwood; Luke Righnowar, jr., Genoa; Jalen Myers, sr., Otsego; Jared Rettig, jr., Lake.
Second team
Aaron Arnold, sr., Elmwood; Mack Miller, sr., Rossford; Grant Peters, sr., Eastwood; Schyler Scherff, soph., Otsego; Casey Gose, sr., Genoa; Bandon Neal, soph., Lake.
honorable mention
Steven Bradley, sr. Eastwood; Kaleb Bemis, jr., Fostoria; Brian Burks, sr., Rossford; Trevor Solether, sr., Elmwood; Cody Witt, sr., Lake; Erich Gruelich, sr., Woodmore.
All-NBC Girls Basketball
First team
Kristen Curtis, sr. Elmwood; Ciara Albright, sr. Genoa; Julie Hotz, sr., Rossford; Haley Pickard, soph., Genoa; Jordyn Taylor, jr., Lake; Allie Wank, sr., Woodmore.
Second team
Samantha Ervin, jr., Elmwood; Abby Hesselschwardt, jr., Otsego; Margo Jackson, sr., Rossford; Mackenzie Johnson, jr., Woodmore; Catie Phalen, jr., Lake, Morgan Smoyer, soph., Otsego.
honorable mention
Tiffany Hillard, sr., Elmwood; Marissa Swavel, sr., Elmwood; Jada Hampton, jr., Fostoria; Erica Moore, jr., Fostoria; Mackenzie Albright, soph., Eastwood; Reagan Boice, jr., Eastwood; Cheyenne Davis, soph., Rossford; Lindsey Donald, sr., Otsego; Alexis Hansen, jr., Lake; Emily Hayward, sr., Eastwood; Katie Jensen, sr., Genoa; Kirsten Keller, jr., Rossford; Brynn Skilliter, sr., Genoa; Grace Weirich, sr., Woodmore; Sumer Woodruff, sr., Lake.



About the Author

Leave a Reply